The first day was lovely, getting to know the group and hearing their stories and their opinions, which is so naturally done when you put us Playworkers together! The day started for me when we went in search for a nice, Traditional Irish pub for dinner, Lynne had heard of a pub outside of the tourist-y part around Temple Bar, called Darky Kellys. A band was playing called the Irish Celts and they were setting up as we walked in. The atmosphere of this place was warm and welcoming, plenty of smiling faces laidened with green face paint and wigs of all sorts. Some had leprechaun outfits, giant hats and green T-shirts that were all in aid of the hugely-anticipated Ireland vs Croatia game that was starting that night at 8 o’ Clock.

We had our food, which was lovely. Normal pub grub but really tasty and plenty of it. We had a couple more rounds of drinks (including my first pint so far in the country), whilst listening to the delightful band that consisted of a guitar, ukulele, a banjo and an accordian. The music sparked a couple of children to come up with their parents and take a closer look, they were intrigued and looked like they really wanted to dance. Their shyness took over and they would run back to their seats. The pub was filled with all ages and genders, women in cream suits and high-heels, walk in plastered in green facepaint. Large groups of young men at the back of the pub, pouring cans of lager sneakedly into their glasses. Groups of women and men with small children jiggled their knees and sung along to all the words. The atmosphere was much different to that of a local pub in my area back home. The pubs wouldnt allow children in past a certain time, and most families would prefer to leave them with a babysitter. The mixture of young and old would be seperated into various pubs on my highstreet where I Iive. The pubs back home can be hostile with women being gawped at and older men being pushed into a corner on thier own. But here in Darky Kellys, it was magical. Now I’m not in Dublin to talk about the pubs, but I am here to observe thier culture and how that can play a part in how they rear and see children.

The football is such a huge deal in Ireland, and it seems everybody supports it and respects it. The National Anthem was played and everybody shot up out of thier seats, including our group out of respect. I was apprehensive at first, as I don’t support football and wasn’t interested in the game, but I felt compelled to as I was the only person sat and the people looked so submersed into the song i couldn’t be anti.

So we leave the pub after playing our own games, and take a playful walk back to our charming hotel overlooking a sweet mediterranean Patio. We sat outside drinking red wine and Berry Cider, discussing this magical evening. I pop upstairs to my room to get changed into warmer clothing and as I walk past a man eating chinese food, I mention how nice it smells. He looks up and stops eating to ask if I wanted any. How nice! I feel at home when I come to Ireland and don’t have the urge to get home in a rush, but at home I don’t even get an offer of someones chinese food!!

 

Speak later alligator

Lily

